Food!

(These are very old storytimes, so I don’t remember every detail about them. Instead of my regular post, I’m just going to write down the plan & craft, with a brief commentary on how it went.)

Books

Eating the Alphabet by Lois Ehlert

Little Pea by Amy Krouse Rosenthal

Mouse Mess by Linnea Riley

Pizza at Sally’s by Monica Wellington

Extension Activities
Flannelboard: Five Big Lemons
Five big lemons in the bowl (hold up five fingers)
One fell out and started to roll (fold down one finger, and roll hands)
Where did it go? (hold hands out) It hit my toe! (point to toe)
How many lemons left in the bowl? 1-2-3-4 (count up with fingers)
(Repeat until “no more lemons left in the bowl”)
Credit: Early Literacy

Song: “Apples and Bananas”
I like to eat, eat, eat apples and bananas
I like to eat, eat, eat apples and bananas (Repeat with other vowels sound)
Credit: Childhood

Fingerplay: Pattycake
Pattycake, pattycake, baker’s man
Bake me a cake as fast as you can
Roll it and pat it and mark it with a B
And put it in the oven for baby and me
Credit: Childhood

Craft

Got this pizza craft a long time ago for a Pizza Taste-Off with my K-5th graders and bookmarked it on the computer. Used it again in storytime. Craft is from Making Friends.

How It Went

This was the first time that I used a big book in storytime (Eating the Alphabet) and I was shocked when parents started reading along with me. This was a great way to get the kids engaged in the story. The craft was a great one too — the kids LOVED gluing toppings onto their pizzas even though each child told me they liked cheese the best.

4 comments on “Food!

  1. Abby
    February 3, 2011 at 7:34 pm #

    *sings*
    I love Little Pea!
    I love Little Pea!
    High ho the derry-o
    I love Little Pea!

    I’m using that book for a candy storytime later this month. Hooray!

    • Katie
      February 3, 2011 at 11:16 pm #

      I am going to have to do a candy storytime this summer. Sounds like so much fun!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Storytime Themes | Dandelions & Roses - April 6, 2015

    […] Animals – Family – Farm 2 3 – Fish – Food – Friends – Frogs – Fruits & […]

  2. Storytime Blogs and Their Themes | Dandelions & Roses - June 23, 2015

    […] Tales – Fall 2 – Fall Animals – Family – Farm 2 3 – Fish – Food – Friends – Frogs – Fruits & Vegetables – Halloween – Hats […]

Leave a comment