Flannel Friday: “Papa, Please Get the Moon For Me”

This week I’m featuring the other flannelboard that I made on the plane ride to and from ALA’s Midwinter Conference this January: “Papa, Please Get the Moon For Me.”

Story Props Page on Kizclub // “Papa” Template (Color) // Book: Eric Carle

I didn’t do any of the painting on the plane, I promise!

My favorite part about this flannel is the glittery felt I found to do the moon. And the ladder (which is just pipe cleaners and a little dab of Tacky glue on each connecting part), which took me a few hours to suss out back at the library.

I haven’t had a chance to use this flannel yet with the kids; I made it for a “Starry Night Stories” program for families this winter, but we got snowed out and no one came. I rescheduled the program for this summer, so it will be used then!

14 comments on “Flannel Friday: “Papa, Please Get the Moon For Me”

  1. Amanda
    April 8, 2011 at 10:23 am #

    I love this SO MUCH.

    • Katie
      April 8, 2011 at 10:32 am #

      Thanks! I love this book, so making the flannel was an easy decision.

  2. Melissa ZD
    April 8, 2011 at 10:57 am #

    A flannel for this story is a nice alternative to managing all the big flaps in the book!

    • Katie
      April 8, 2011 at 11:00 am #

      Definitely. The flaps are definitely cumbersome at times! (Especially trying to get them to fold back nicely before turning the page.)

      • Bibilicious
        June 27, 2013 at 6:03 pm #

        I agree. I wanted to use this flannel after I read once (for repetition, but I’m not sure how to transition to it post story. Any ideas? Thanks!

      • Katie
        July 5, 2013 at 9:26 am #

        I tend to start with, “So, Monica went to get the moon for Papa, right?” as I put Monica up on the board first. The kids love squealing “NO, MISS KATIE!” and we wind up retelling the story that way. “Okay, it was Papa. Papa jumped high into the sky…wait, he didn’t? What did he use? Oh, a ladder!” etc.

  3. Brianna
    April 13, 2011 at 9:36 pm #

    Oh I love your moons! So cute! And very clever to use pipe cleaners for the ladder šŸ™‚

  4. Puleng
    March 18, 2019 at 10:29 pm #

    I love I so much since I don’t have no pictures in my class for storytelling

    • Katie
      March 25, 2019 at 10:58 am #

      Thank you!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bedtime & Pajamas! | storytime katie - July 23, 2012

    […] Flannelboard: ā€œPapa Please Get the Moonā€ […]

  2. Pajama Storytime (September) | storytime katie - March 26, 2014

    […] Flannelboard: “Papa, Please Get the Moon” […]

  3. Having the Storytime Blahs? Here are a few easy fixes! | LBPSB Library Resources - May 20, 2014

    […] The only suggestion I would offer is that you have a large enough board so that the students can see it clearly.Ā Ā  There are lots of great ideas at these sites: Felt Board Ideas:Ā  Pete the Cat Felt Board Ideas:Ā  Papa, Please Get the Moon For Me […]

  4. Flannel Friday–Papa, Please Get the Moon for Me - July 24, 2020

    […] Credit: Storytime Katie […]

  5. Bed Time Stories–Fantastical Beings and Places - July 27, 2020

    […] Credit: Storytime Katie […]

Leave a comment