Flannel Friday: Ten Teddy Bears

This week’s flannelboard was from last January when I did “Bears” storytime. Since this was before Flannel Friday was created, I didn’t save the clipart files that I found for this one. Pretty sure that I just googled “teddy bear” and “bed” and went from there.

“Ten Teddy Bears Sleeping in the Bed”
Ten little teddy bears sleeping in the bed,
Five at the foot and five at the head.
One little teddy said, “This bed is TOO full!”
So he grabbed the blanket and started to pull.
He pulled and he pulled and he pulled some more,
Until two little teddies went BOOM to the floor!
(Make pulling motions with PULL and clap with the BOOM)

(Count down until…)

One little teddy bear sleeping in the bed,
Zero at the foot and one at the head.
This little teddy said, “This is not right!
I don’t want to sleep alone tonight!”

So…
One little teddy bear sleeping in the bed,
Zero at the foot and one at the head.
This teddy said, “This bed is NOT full!”
So he put out his paw and started to pull.
He pulled and he pulled and he pulled some more,
Until four little teddies climbed up from the floor!

(Count up until…)

Ten little teddy bears sleeping in the bed,
Five at the foot and five at the head.
One little teddy said, “This is JUST right!”
So ten little teddy bears said, “Good Night!”
Susan Pflug, Copyright 1990
Credit: I found this rhyme here: SurLaLune Storytime.

Enjoy!

25 comments on “Flannel Friday: Ten Teddy Bears

  1. Bridget R. Wilson
    June 10, 2011 at 10:18 am #

    Too cute!

    • Katie
      June 10, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

      Thank you!

  2. sarah
    June 10, 2011 at 1:43 pm #

    this is so cute! thanks for sharing. 🙂

    • Katie
      June 10, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

      You’re welcome! And thank you!

  3. Sharon H
    June 10, 2011 at 5:43 pm #

    Katie: I love the ruffled bed spread… nicely done.

    • Katie
      June 10, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

      Thanks! It was my first time trying out some sewing on a flannel and it worked out pretty well!

  4. Susan
    October 13, 2011 at 11:06 am #

    I haven’t received a reply to my last comment, so in case you didn’t get it, I am repeating it. I wrote “Ten Teddies in the Bed” many years ago. I did not write the verses where the teddies are pulled back into the bed. It was posted online by my former employer, the Charlotte Public Library, and was used in its interactive website, StoryPlace, with my permission. I’m guessing you found it from their site. The copyright is mine and I do require permission and attribution in order to use my material in any publishing medium, including Internet. Please add “Susan Pflug, Copyright 1990” to this verse. I have written a book of felt board activities and this verse is included. I have self-published it and now sell it on CD in pdf format. I intend to be very proactive in protecting my copyrights. Please reply so that I know that you have received this message. Thank you.
    Susan Pflug

    • Katie
      October 13, 2011 at 11:14 am #

      Hi Susan,

      I apologize — your comment never made it to moderation. (It’s possible that WordPress’s overactive spam filter catch.) I have since edited to post to include your request. However, I clearly state that I found the rhyme from another library storytime site, so you may want to contact that site owner, too. You might also want to contact StoryPlace and have them put a notification as well.

  5. Susan
    October 13, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

    Thanks, Katie.

  6. Leslie Lewis
    October 21, 2011 at 12:05 pm #

    Hi Katie,
    I am wondering where you found the ten teddies in the bed felt template? I have searched everywhere, and cannot find it!
    Thanks!
    Leslie

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Flannel Friday roundup for June 10 « 1234 More Storytimes - June 10, 2011

    […] Ten Teddy Bears […]

  2. Night and Day! | storytime katie - October 12, 2011

    […] it was time to switch to night with our flannelboard: “Ten Teddy Bears Sleeping in the Bed,” followed by an action rhyme: Action Rhyme: “Going to Bed” This little child is going to bed […]

  3. Starry Night Stories! | storytime katie - February 20, 2012

    […] Flannelboard: “Ten Teddy Bears” […]

  4. Bears! | storytime katie - January 2, 2014

    […] Flannelboard: “Ten Teddy Bears Sleeping in the Bed” Ten little teddy bears sleeping in the bed, Five at the foot and five at the head. One little teddy said, “This bed is TOO full!” So he grabbed the blanket and started to pull. He pulled and he pulled and he pulled some more, Until two little teddies went BOOM to the floor! (Make pulling motions with PULL and clap with the BOOM) […]

  5. Blankets! | storytime katie - May 16, 2014

    […] Flannelboard: “Ten Teddy Bears” […]

  6. Number Eight! | storytime katie - May 16, 2014

    […] Flannelboard: “Eight Teddy Bears” […]

  7. Pajama Storytime (October) | storytime katie - May 16, 2014

    […] Flannelboard: “Ten Teddy Bears” […]

  8. Bear Storytime for Preschoolers | The Librarian Is on The Loose - September 29, 2014

    […] up was the flannel Ten Teddy Bears Sleeping in the Bed.  I don’t know what my flannel originally was because it didn’t have any directions when I […]

  9. Babies: Bears | storytime katie - February 26, 2015

    […] little guy came from my “Ten Teddy Bears” set. I took special care to hide him in my bag immediately after finding him because of his googly […]

  10. Toddlers: Bears | storytime katie - April 21, 2015

    […] Flannelboard: “Ten Teddy Bears”*** […]

  11. Families: Blankets & Teddies | storytime katie - July 30, 2015

    […] Flannelboard: “Ten Teddy Bears”* […]

  12. Families: Toys | storytime katie - September 10, 2015

    […] Flannelboard: Ten Teddy Bears* […]

  13. Families: Bedtime | storytime katie - November 19, 2015

    […] Flannelboard: Ten Teddy Bears* […]

  14. Letter B Storytime – Library Joy - August 30, 2017

    […] Flannel rhyme: “Ten Teddy Bears Sleeping in the Bed” Credit: Storytime Katie […]

  15. Bear Storytime – 9-27-17 | The Librarian Is on The Loose - October 3, 2017

    […] last activity was a flannel, Ten Teddy Bears from Storytime Katie.  I’ve done this one before, and it just seems too long to me, so I did it […]

Leave a comment