Flannel Friday: Toolbox

Originally, I found this flannelboard on Pinterest, which I am fast becoming majorly addicted to. However, the original templates were from Serving Pink Lemonade; toolbox here and tools here.

Here’s my rendition:

Pretty much just copied this from the template. I did wind up using felt letters stickers for the lettering though. Michaels now has stickers in felt, which makes my life way easier!

I have a plan to use this flannel as a conversation starter and matching game. I do need to create a piece of wood for the saw, if I do use it as a matching game. [Edited: In the new picture, you can see my piece of wood that looks like bacon.] I think that the kids will probably really enjoy this, and I certainly enjoyed making it.

10 comments on “Flannel Friday: Toolbox

  1. Anne
    August 26, 2011 at 7:11 pm #

    This turned out great! I want one too!

    • Katie
      August 26, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

      Thanks! It was a ton of fun to make, as always.

  2. Library Quine
    August 27, 2011 at 4:59 am #

    I love it! Thanks for your comment on 3 craws on http://loonandquines.blogspot.com, I’ve now added a link to an MP3 of the song if you are interested.

  3. Elizabeth
    September 12, 2011 at 9:14 am #

    We use a bunch of felt tools with the book “Old MacDonald Had a Woodshop” by Lisa Shulman. Just an idea!

    • Katie
      September 16, 2011 at 11:29 am #

      I will definitely have to look that book up! It sounds perfect — thanks!

  4. Jennifer S.
    August 4, 2015 at 5:52 pm #

    Hi Katie,

    Where do you get your felt fabric? I can never seem to find very sturdy felt anywhere. The felt I can find is not thick enough for my needs, yours looks like it’s pretty thick and sturdy. Thanks!

    • Katie
      September 16, 2015 at 2:28 pm #

      I purchase felt sheets at Michael’s or Joann Fabrics.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Flannel Friday: Doctor Bag | storytime katie - February 10, 2012

    […] sick storytime, I decided to make a felt doctor bag in the style of the toolbox flannel I made this summer. I used the template from the toolbox, which originally came from Serving Pink […]

  2. Tools! | storytime katie - January 2, 2014

    […] Flannelboard: “Toolbox Match-Up” […]

  3. Building & Engineering! | storytime katie - January 6, 2016

    […] Flannelboard: Toolbox […]

Leave a comment